- Cooking with my kid - http://cookingwithmykid.com -

GF White Bean Chive Cakes with Heirloom Tomatoes

Tweet [1]

[2]When you’re forced to change the way you eat, sometimes experimenting with new food is a massive failure [3]. Other times I find my new fave meal/appetizer/travel snack, like with these white bean and chive cakes, and all the hockey pucks I’ve baked become a distant memory.

I love this inspiring recipe from Tasty Yummies (she calls them patties, I call them cakes because they make me as happy as eating cake) thrown on top of some greens, served alongside some marina sauce, atop a juicy tomato slice, or just eaten hot off the griddle. You must make sure your cornmeal for this rad dish is gluten-free, as some of them can be sneaky. But once you’ve purchased your bag of g-free cornmeal, think of all the things you can do! Oh, the cornmeal places you’ll go.

Also, do you know what rocks when you can’t eat gluten? Crusts. And this cornmeal makes such a lovely crust I’m thinking about throwing it on everything I eat from now on. Even beaver [4]. First you toss the gluten-free cornmeal on this: [5]

Fry it in olive oil, like this:

[6]

Shove it in your mouth, like this:

[7]Here’s how you get a g-free delight that will turn you into a white bean & chive cake addict. You’ve been warned.

Gluten-Free White Bean & Chive Cakes

adapted from Tasty Yummies [8]

Prep time: 10 minutes Cook time: 8 minutes

Ingredients:

2 15-oz can organic white beans
1 shallot, finely diced
1 medium carrot, finely grated
1/3 cup yellow cornmeal (more if your mixture seems too wet)
1 tablespoon chopped fresh chives
Coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
3 large heirloom tomatoes, sliced

1. Drain beans, reserving 2 tablespoons liquid. Transfer to a bowl and mash. Stir in shallot, carrot, cornmeal, and chives. Season with salt and pepper. Add 1 tablespoon reserved liquid. If mixture is too dry, add the other.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 2 tablespoons oil. Form mixture into patties (about 2 1/2 inches diameter each) and saute in batches until golden brown and crisp, 2 to 3 minutes per side. Repeat with remaining oil and patties. Serve with atop tomato slices or straight up.

Makes: 20 cakes

Print Post [9]

Check out these other awesome Tomato Recipes

Big Girls Small Kitchen: Seared Chicken with Cherry Tomato Pan Sauce [10]
Haute Apple Pie: Heirloom Tomato & Three Cheese Tart [11]
What’s Gaby Cooking: Zebra Tomato and Burrata Crostini [12]
Zaika Zabardast: Balsamic Roasted Tomato-Basil Ice [13]
And Love It Too: Healthy Lunchbox – Garlic Tomato Basil Pesto Bruchetta [14]
Chez Us: Roasted Tomato Sauce [15]
Daily*Dishin: Refreshing and Rustic – Tuscan Bread Salad [16]
Glory Foods: Fresh Tomato Salsa [17]
Dishin and Dishes: Tomato Tart Tatin [18]
The Purple Cook: Eggplant Parmesan Caprese Salad [19]
I Am Mommy: Tomato Crudite [20]
FN Dish: Easy Tomato Appetizers [21]
Add a Pinch: Simple Caprese Salad Skewers [22]
Sweet Life Bake: Salsa Cruda [23]
Virtually Homemade: Farfalle with Roasted Tomato Sauce, Bacon and Shaved Romano [24]
Dixie Chik Cooks: Tomato, Basil and Olive Bruschetta [25]
The Sensitive Epicure: Yemista – Greek Stuffed Tomatoes & Peppers with Potatoes [26]
Mooshu Jenne: Sun Burst Tomato Pasta [27]
Napa Farmhouse 1885: Book Club, Tomatoes and a Recipe for Chicken Proven├žal? [28]
Cooking With Elise: Tomato Parmesan Biscuits [29]
From My Corner of Saratoga: Cooking from the Garden – Bruschetta Pizza [30]
Fritos and Foie Gras: Tomato Terrine [31]
Creative Culinary: Fresh and Savory Tomato Pie [32]
Big Apple Nosh: Caprese Salad/Tomato Carnage [33]
Spices and Aroma: Quick and Easy Paneer Curry [34]
Zaika Zabardast: Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Breakfast Rolls [35]


Article printed from Cooking with my kid: http://cookingwithmykid.com

URL to article: http://cookingwithmykid.com/2011/08/30/gluten-free-white-bean-chive-cakes-with-heirloom-tomatoes/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tweet: http://twitter.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Fcookingwithmykid.com%2F2011%2F08%2F30%2Fgluten-free-white-bean-chive-cakes-with-heirloom-tomatoes%2F&count=vertical&text=GF White Bean Chive Cakes with Heirloom Tomatoes - Cooking with my kid

[2] Image: http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/GfWhiteBeanChive_082911_LO1.jpg

[3] experimenting with new food is a massive failure: http://glutenismybitch.wordpress.com/2011/08/01/bread-im-done-with-you/

[4] Even beaver: http://glutenismybitch.wordpress.com/2011/08/19/gluten-free-weekend-reading-adventurous-eating/

[5] Image: http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/GfWhiteBeanChive_082911_LO2.jpg

[6] Image: http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/GfWhiteBeanChive_082911_LO3.jpg

[7] Image: http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/GfWhiteBeanChive_082911_LO4.jpg

[8] Tasty Yummies: http://tasty-yummies.com/2011/06/04/white-bean-and-chive-patties/

[9] Image: http://cookingwithmykid.com/2011/08/30/gluten-free-white-bean-chive-cakes-with-heirloom-tomatoes/print/

[10] Seared Chicken with Cherry Tomato Pan Sauce: http://www.biggirlssmallkitchen.com/?p=3660

[11] Heirloom Tomato & Three Cheese Tart: http://hauteapplepie.com/2011/08/29/in-the-garden-heirloom-tomato-tart/

[12] Zebra Tomato and Burrata Crostini: http://whatsgabycooking.com/zebra-tomato-and-burrata-crostini

[13] Balsamic Roasted Tomato-Basil Ice: http://zaikazabardast.com/2011/08/31/balsamicroastedtomatonbasilicecream/

[14] Healthy Lunchbox – Garlic Tomato Basil Pesto Bruchetta : http://andloveittoo.com/healthy-lunchbox-garlic-tomato-basil-pesto-bruchetta-vegan-gluten-free-dairy-free/

[15] Roasted Tomato Sauce: http://chezus.com/2011/08/29/roasted-tomato-sauce/

[16] Refreshing and Rustic – Tuscan Bread Salad: http://dailydishinblog.blogspot.com/2011/08/refreshing-and-rustic-tuscan-bread.html

[17] Fresh Tomato Salsa: http://blog.gloryfoods.com/2011/08/fresh-tomato-salsa/

[18] Tomato Tart Tatin: http://wp.me/pYo6x-46c

[19] Eggplant Parmesan Caprese Salad: http://purplecook.blogspot.com/2011/08/eggplant-parmesan-caprese-salad.html

[20] Tomato Crudite: http://iammommy.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/08/tomato-crudite.html

[21] Easy Tomato Appetizers: http://blog.foodnetwork.com/fn-dish/2011/08/31/tomato-appetizer-recipes/

[22] Simple Caprese Salad Skewers: http://addapinch.com/cooking/2011/08/30/simple-caprese-salad-skewers/

[23] Salsa Cruda: http://sweetlifebake.com/2011/08/30/salsa-cruda/

[24] Farfalle with Roasted Tomato Sauce, Bacon and Shaved Romano: http://virtuallyhomemade.blogspot.com/2011/08/farfalle-with-roasted-tomato-sauce.html

[25] Tomato, Basil and Olive Bruschetta: http://www.dixiechikcooks.com/2011/08/30/tomato-basil-and-olive-bruschetta/

[26] Greek Stuffed Tomatoes & Peppers with Potatoes: http://thesensitiveepicure.blogspot.com/2011/08/yemista-greek-stuffed-tomatoes-peppers.html

[27] Sun Burst Tomato Pasta: http://mooshujenne.com/?p=549

[28] Book Club, Tomatoes and a Recipe for Chicken Proven├žal?: http://napafarmhouse1885.blogspot.com/2011/08/book-club-tomatoes-and-recipe-for.html

[29] Tomato Parmesan Biscuits: http://cookingwithelise.com/?p=6005

[30] Cooking from the Garden – Bruschetta Pizza: http://http://frommycornerofsaratoga.blogspot.com/2011/06/cooking-from-garden-recipe-bruschetta.html

[31] Tomato Terrine: http://fritosandfoiegras.blogspot.com/2011/08/summer-fest-tomato-terrine.html

[32] Fresh and Savory Tomato Pie: http://www.creative-culinary.com/fresh-and-savory-tomato-pie

[33] Caprese Salad/Tomato Carnage: http://bigapplenosh.com/2011/08/recipe-caprese-saladtomato-carnage/

[34] Quick and Easy Paneer Curry: http://spicesnaroma.blogspot.com/2011/08/quick-and-easy-paneer-curry.html

[35] Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto Breakfast Rolls: http://zaikazabardast.com/2011/08/31/sundriedtomatopestobreakfastrolls/

Copyright © 2016 Cooking with my kid. All rights reserved.