- Cooking with my kid - http://cookingwithmykid.com -

Peach & Friends Cobbler Pie

Tweet [1]

[2]

I bought a dozen big gorgeous peaches at Trader Joe’s this weekend. They were perfectly ripe and juicy and I started dreaming of making a peach pie. But, the peaches were so juicy, I started to get worried that the pie would be too liquid-y. Then I had a thought, if I made a cobbler pie, I could have a buttery crust without worrying if the pieces came out in perfect triangles. What could be better than a deliciously messy cobbler-y pie?

[3]

What I didn’t anticipate was how many peach slices would be stolen from the bowl as I peeled and cut them.  By the time we were ready to assemble the pie, I had a half-full bowl of lonely peaches.  We had a pint of blueberries and a few granny smiths in the fridge so we made up for the deficit by throwing some some fruity friends into the mix.

[4]

I was tempted to eat this filling right out of the raw pie crust – no one would have been the wiser, but I baked this beauty up in the oven and brought it to a 4th of July BBQ. Truth be told, the slices ain’t pretty, but it tastes like peach heaven.

and if you have peaches left over, check out these great recipes:

What’s Gaby Cooking: Peach and Blueberry Cobbler [5]

In Jennie’s Kitchen: Easy Peach Preserves [6]

Daily Dishin: Fresh Peaches and Cream No-Bake Pie [7]

Cooking with Books: Peaches and Cream Cheesecake [8]

CIA Dropout: Peachy Keen Panna Cotta [9]

White on Rice Couple: Peach Heirloom Tomato Salad [10]

Cooking With Elise: Bruschetta with Grilled Peach Chutney [11]

FN Dish: Summer Fest: Peach Recipes [12]

Taste With The Eyes: Warm White Peach and Blackberry Cobbler [13]

Recipe Girl: Fresh Peach Pie [14]

A Way to Garden: Farm Fresh Peaches Frozen to Perfection [15]

Napa Farmhouse 1885: Fresh Peach Cookies [16]

Sassy Radish: Peach, Apricot and Blueberry Cobbler with a Cornmeal Crust [17]

Sweet Life Bake: Sweet Peach Ancho Chile Salsa [18]

Indian Simmer: Indian Peach Gujiya [19]

Pinch My Salt: Creamy Peach Smoothie [20]

Dixie Chik Cooks: Peach Cobbler [21]

Food2: 5 Killer Peach Flavored Cocktails [22]

Healthy Eats: 8 Ways You Didn’t Know You Could Eat Peaches [23]

Cooking Channel: Peaches on the Grill [24]

Add a Pinch: My Grandmother’s Peach Cobbler [25]

And Love It Too: Pan Seared Salmon with Fresh Peach Salsa [26]

The Sensitive Epicure: A Summer Peach Tart, Gluten-Free [27]

From My Corner of Saratoga: Double Caramel Peaches [28]

She Wears Many Hats: Peach Wontons [29]

I Am Mommy: Peach Bread [30]

Peach & Friends Cobbler Pie

Prep Time: 30 minutes  Cooking Time: 45 mins

Ingredients:
1 buttery pie crust (store bought or Best Ever Pie Crust [31])
1 egg white
4 cups fresh peaches. peeled + sliced
1 to 2 cups granny smith apples, very thinly peeled + sliced
1 pint blueberries
juice of 1 small lemon
1/4 cup unsalted butter
1 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon water mixed with 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Topping Ingredients:
1 stick of chilled butter, diced
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup old fashioned oatmeal
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of salt

1. Place fruit in a colander in your sink and toss with lemon juice.
2. Melt butter in a sauce pan. Stir in flour to form a paste. Add white sugar, brown sugar and water/cornstarch; bring to a boil. Reduce temperature, and simmer 5 minutes.
3. Pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees.  Carefully place dough into a 9-inch pie plate. Gently press the pie dough down so that it lines the bottom and sides of the pie plate. Fold the edges over to crimp. Use a pastry brush to paint the bottom of the pie with egg whites and set aside.
4. Fill crust with fruit, mounded slightly. Gently pour the sugar and butter liquid over the fruit slowly so that it does not run off.
5. Use a food processor or a blender to mix together topping until it forms pebble-sized clusters. Sprinkle on top of fruit and press down gently to keep in place.
6. Bake pie for 15 minutes at 425 degrees. Reduce the temperature to 350 degrees and continue baking for 35 to 45 minutes.
7. Serve warm by scooping (as you would a cobbler) with vanilla ice-cream.

Makes: 8 servings

Print Post [32]

 


Article printed from Cooking with my kid: http://cookingwithmykid.com

URL to article: http://cookingwithmykid.com/2011/07/05/peach-friends-cobbler-pie/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tweet: http://twitter.com/share?url=http%3A%2F%2Fcookingwithmykid.com%2F2011%2F07%2F05%2Fpeach-friends-cobbler-pie%2F&count=vertical&text=Peach & Friends Cobbler Pie - Cooking with my kid

[2] Image: http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/IMG_8146.jpg

[3] Image: http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/IMG_8103.jpg

[4] Image: http://www.cookingwithmykid.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/IMG_8123.jpg

[5] Peach and Blueberry Cobbler: http://whatsgabycooking.com/peach-and-blueberry-cobbler/

[6] Easy Peach Preserves: http://www.injennieskitchen.com/2011/07/summer-fest-peach-recipes.html

[7] Fresh Peaches and Cream No-Bake Pie: http://dailydishinblog.blogspot.com/2011/07/fresh-peaches-and-cream-no-bake-pie.html

[8] Peaches and Cream Cheesecake : http://cookingwithbooks.blogspot.com/2011/07/summer-fest-peaches-cream-cheesecake_06.html

[9] Peachy Keen Panna Cotta: http://ciadropout.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/peachy-keen-panna-cotta/

[10] Peach Heirloom Tomato Salad: http://whiteonricecouple.com/recipes/peach-heirloom-tomato-salad/

[11] Bruschetta with Grilled Peach Chutney: http://cookingwithelise.com/?p=4889

[12] Summer Fest: Peach Recipes: http://blog.foodnetwork.com/fn-dish/2011/07/06/peach-recipes/

[13] Warm White Peach and Blackberry Cobbler: http://www.tastewiththeeyes.com/2011/07/the-land-of-the-free-and-the-home-of-the-brave/

[14] Fresh Peach Pie: http://www.recipegirl.com/2011/07/05/fresh-peach-pie/

[15] Farm Fresh Peaches Frozen to Perfection: http://awaytogarden.com/farm-fresh-peaches-frozen-to-perfection

[16] Fresh Peach Cookies: http://napafarmhouse1885.blogspot.com/2011/07/want-recipe-for-fresh-peach-cookies.html

[17] Peach, Apricot and Blueberry Cobbler with a Cornmeal Crust: http://www.sassyradish.com/2011/07/peach-apricot-and-blueberry-cobbler/

[18] Sweet Peach Ancho Chile Salsa: http://sweetlifebake.com/2011/07/06/summer-fest-sweet-peach-ancho-chile-sauce/

[19] Indian Peach Gujiya: http://www.indiansimmer.com/2011/07/peach-gujiya-indian-empanada-or-deep.html

[20] Creamy Peach Smoothie: http://pinchmysalt.com/2011/07/06/summer-fest-creamy-peach-smoothie/

[21] Peach Cobbler: http://www.dixiechikcooks.com/2011/07/06/peach-cobbler/

[22] 5 Killer Peach Flavored Cocktails: http://www.food2.com/blog/2011/07/06/5-killer-peach-flavored-cocktails

[23] 8 Ways You Didn’t Know You Could Eat Peaches: http://blog.foodnetwork.com/healthyeats/2011/07/06/peaches-8-ways

[24] Peaches on the Grill: http://blog.cookingchanneltv.com/2011/07/06/peach-recipes-on-the-grill/

[25] My Grandmother’s Peach Cobbler: http://addapinch.com/cooking/2011/07/05/grandmothers-peach-cobbler/

[26] Pan Seared Salmon with Fresh Peach Salsa: http://andloveittoo.com/?p=965

[27] A Summer Peach Tart, Gluten-Free: http://thesensitiveepicure.blogspot.com/2011/07/summer-peach-tart-gluten-free.html

[28] Double Caramel Peaches: http://frommycornerofsaratoga.blogspot.com/2011/07/double-caramel-peaches.html

[29] Peach Wontons : http://shewearsmanyhats.com/2011/07/peach-wontons/

[30] Peach Bread: http://iammommy.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/07/peach-bread.html

[31] Best Ever Pie Crust: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/best-ever-pie-crust/detail.aspx

[32] Image: http://cookingwithmykid.com/2011/07/05/peach-friends-cobbler-pie/print/

Copyright © 2016 Cooking with my kid. All rights reserved.